Weather Information is also available through Toll Free No. 1800 180 1717


 About Us  :

     The Meteorological office Guwahati was established at Guwahati Airport 23 - 07 - 1949.  It was upgraded  to Meteorological  Centre  on 25- 03- 1974 and further upgraded to RMC on 01 - 04 -1997. There are 17 field offices under administrative, technical and financial control of RMC Guwahati. Name of the field offices are:

Meteorological Centre Agartala.
Meteorological Centre Itanagar.
Meteorological Centre Shillong.
Aviation Meteorological Office Guwahati.
Aviation Meteorological Office Mohanbari.
Aviation Meteorological station Imphal.
Aviation Meteorological Station Dimapur.
Aviation Meteorological Station Barapani.
Aviation Meteorological Station Lengpui.
Aviation Meteorological Station North Lakhimpur.
Meteorological Office Tezpur.
Meteorological Office Silchar.
Meteorological Office Passighat.
Meteorological Office Cherrapunjee.
Seismological Observatory Lekhapani.
Seismological Observatory Tura.
Seismological Observatory Imphal.
PET Jorhat.

       In addition to analogue system of forecasting, RMC Guwahati is equipped with Synergy system of weather forecasting tool, High speed computing system (HPCS),Integrated Automatic Aviation Meteorological System (IAAMS), Polar Orbiting Satellitereceiving system (Metop, Aqua, Terra, NOAA series), Automatic weather stations(AWS), Automatic Rain gauges (ARG)GPS , Doppler weather Radar (DWR), Automatic message switching system (AMSS)for regional modeling.

     Imdguwahati 2011. All rights reserved                       HTML Hit Counters                 About us | Disclaimer | Contact us